The Botanist Coventry

The Botanist Coventry

Will open in 2 h. 31 min.
Address
Working hours
Mon-thu, sun: 12:00—24:00; fri-sat: 12:00—01:00
Price
£ — ££
Official website
Are you the owner?

4 photos The Botanist Coventry

Nicelocal can grow your business
Customers browse Nicelocal for local services to spend their money on
Nicelocal ad will get you to the top of search results
You will get found and chosen by more customers ready to spend
Write a review Edit your review

Reviews about The Botanist Coventry

4.3
  /  404 ratings
All reviews 133
Sort:
  • Sam 7 December 2021, 9:07 am
    Comment
    Lovely atmosphere and great staff

    Would recommend this to anyone without a doubt. You must try the hanging kebab. I came here on a friends recommendation and I can see why it was recommended!!

    There was nothing I could fault in this restaurant. The staff were even happy to go through all our allergies one by one to ensure there was no issues.

    Thanks team for a good night!
  • Stacey J. 5 December 2021, 4:06 pm
    Comment
    Friendly staff, fab decor & even better food & presentation. Would definitely come back.
  • lexie r. 4 December 2021, 9:45 pm
    Comment
    Let me start by saying that the aesthetics of the botanist really brings the wow factor and the food was lovely (albeit from a very limited lunchtime menu) but the service was absolutely appalling. It was slow and the waitress clearly didn't want to be there. Also, just a personal preference but I'm not the biggest fan of pepsi max and there was no offer of coke or pepsi…
  • Brian A. 28 November 2021, 8:50 pm
    Comment
    We Called in to the botanist for something to eat and drink I can honestly say what a lovely place,we were met with very friendly staff really made us welcome the food was very nice, would we come here again you bet,
    • Company's official reply 30 November 2021, 6:19 pm
      Thank you Brian, Glad you had an amazing time! Look forward to welcoming you again soon
  • Dimi C. 24 November 2021, 4:01 pm
    Comment
    Excellent food and the cocktails were great! I would appreciate it if the music hadn´t been so loud though. We had to leave because we couldn´t talk to each other.
    • Company's official reply 24 November 2021, 9:25 pm
      Hi Dimi, Thanks for your feedback! Hope to see you again soon
  • Ray F. 23 November 2021, 1:26 am
    Comment
    Really good venue, looks great, good atmosphere, good food and great service
    What's not to like?
    • Company's official reply 24 November 2021, 9:28 pm
      That's what we think too! Thanks for the review Ray! see you again soon
  • Ferah R. 20 November 2021, 5:11 pm
    Comment
    As well as the stunning decor, the food doesn't fail to impress. Went for a friend graduation and even got a free bottle of prosecco!
    Also had the most amazing cheesecake
    • Company's official reply 24 November 2021, 9:29 pm
      Thanks for the review Ferah, Look forward to seeing you again soon
  • grandhi k. 18 November 2021, 5:56 pm
    Comment
    Amazing food & ambience! Definitely worth a visit & going back again & again

    Have seen parties, family get-togethers ‍ ‍ ‍, celebrations … everyone seemed to have a good time
    • Company's official reply 19 November 2021, 3:25 pm
      Hey Grandhi!

      Thanks for the AMAZING review! Great to see you had a fantastic time with us, hopefully you will be back very soon to do it all again!

      Have a great day.
  • MANU S. 17 November 2021, 3:56 am
    Comment
    Nice and professional service. Food can't say great but ok. Cocktails are a must try
    • Company's official reply 19 November 2021, 3:30 pm
      Hi Manu,

      Thank you for leaving a review of your recent visit!

      Have a wonderful day
  • Kat G. 15 November 2021, 3:32 pm
    Comment
    Beautiful interior but we were clearly forgotten about on a busy night as multiple tables around us came and left before we had eaten our mains. I would still try again, the food was good but with drinks being offered only three times during the meal that took a long time to arrive we felt it. For context: we arrived for a 7.15pm booking and left after 10.30pm, we had starters and mains for a table of five with an hour wait between courses in a Friday night.

    I would have like to have been in th
    – show
    • Company's official reply 19 November 2021, 3:19 pm
      Hi Kat,

      Thank you for the review and the comments regarding the issues that occurred during your visit. We have taken your comments on board for improvements moving forward. Please accept our apologies for the issues caused.

      Thanks again and hopefully we do get to welcome you back for a much better experience in the future.

      Have a great day!
  • Adam L. 12 November 2021, 10:38 pm
    Comment
    They don't serve any bar snacks. What kind of bar doesn't serve crisps?
    • Company's official reply 19 November 2021, 3:17 pm
      Hi Adam,

      Thank you for your review, unfortunately we do not supply crisps on the menu but do have a great selection of Starters and Nibbles that are available throughout the day.

      Thanks again for the review and have a great day!
  • Ian J. 8 November 2021, 10:27 pm
    Comment
    Good food, not so keen on the drinks. My preference, others were more than happy.
  • hal w. 7 November 2021, 11:44 pm
    Comment
    Lovely cocktails and unusual building. Pleasant staff. Looked clean and the food looked nice but didn't eat here.
    • Company's official reply 19 November 2021, 3:36 pm
      Thank you for the review Hal! Hopefully we get to welcome you back soon and maybe this time to try our delicious food menu!
  • Ruky S. 6 November 2021, 2:43 am
    Comment
    Lovely food and atmosphere for a leisurely dinner. Would definitely go again.
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:18 pm
      Hey Ruky Sachak,

      Thanks for the great feedback!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • David L. 5 November 2021, 11:56 pm
    Comment
    Missing meals very unorganized but did sort out
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:41 pm
      Hey David,

      Thanks for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear you had missing meals.

      Do you mind dropping me an email on danielwilson@thebotanist.uk.com to discuss in a little more detail.

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Andy M. 4 November 2021, 1:12 am
    Comment
    Good food, service slow but we were a big group
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:46 pm
      Hey Andy McBain,

      Thanks for leaving us a review. I'm glad to here the food was good!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • JUNE S. 2 November 2021, 7:27 pm
    Comment
    Lovely helpful staff, food was really good will defiantly be back. Setting of the restaurant was really beautiful.
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:18 pm
      Hey JUNE SCOTT,

      Thanks for leaving us a great review!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Sitshengisiwe N. 2 November 2021, 9:24 am
    Comment
    This was my second time going there and I was disappointed. The customer service wasn’t good. We got there and they showed us our table and left us there. No one came to use to order our drinks for 29 mins, we had to go to the bar. After that I had to go around the restaurant looking for a waitress to order our food. So disappointed
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:47 pm
      Hey Sitshengisiwe N,

      Thanks for leaving us a review.

      Do you mind dropping me an email on danielwilson@thebotanist.uk.com to discuss in a little more detail.

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Lilla P. 1 November 2021, 12:53 am
    Comment
    Amazing food, beautiful place
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:19 pm
      Hey Lilla PB,

      Thanks for giving us a 5 star review!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Craig B. 31 October 2021, 9:01 pm
    Comment
    Fantastic food, lovely setting and great service.
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:20 pm
      Hey Craig Bales,

      Thanks for leaving us a great review! We love the food too

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Sharon E. 31 October 2021, 6:36 pm
    Comment
    Lovely vibe, yummy cocktails.
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:20 pm
      Hey Sharon, Evans,

      Thanks for leaving us such a great review!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • L D. 30 October 2021, 2:25 pm
    Comment
    Went to the botanist last night with my fiancé to celebrate our anniversary. We were sat on the balcony right in the middle between few other quite busy table — not a fan. Thankfully the staff was very understanding & did manage to move us couple tables down — this was much appreciated considering how busy the place was. Overall the atmosphere & food was mega. However I did find the drink prices quite steep — £21.90 for 2 double beefeater gins & lemonade? Profit greedy! You can get a bottle for – show
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:49 pm
      Hey L Done,

      Thanks for leaving us a review! I'm really glad you had a great time and chose us to celebrate your anniversary at!

      Do you mind dropping me an email on danielwilson@thebotanist.uk.com to arrange a re-visit with a couple of gin and tonics on me!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Ian D. 30 October 2021, 1:38 am
    Comment
    Lovely atmosphere with live music in excellent surroundings.
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:21 pm
      Hey Ian Dakin,

      Thanks for leaving us a 5 star review! I'm glad you enjoyed our atmosphere

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • mihaela g. 29 October 2021, 11:41 am
    Comment
    Fantastic
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:22 pm
      Hey mihaela gretcan,

      Thanks for leaving us a 5 star review!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Kristin M. 27 October 2021, 7:27 pm
    Comment
    Beautiful floral/green inside setting for a date, anniversary, or catch up with a friend.
    Main, drink, dessert and coffee will set you back about £35+pp. (Not including a starter.) But overall it's worth it. Nice ambiance with friendly quick service. One of the nicest more upscale options in the Coventry City center, so you get what you pay for.

    In the summer there is some outdoor seating on the balcony and on the ground floor.
    The other benefit to this restaurant is that there is a wheelchair
    – show
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:50 pm
      Hey Kristin MW,

      Thank you so much for leaving such an in-depth review! We really appreciate all of your comments.

      Do you mind dropping me an email on danielwilson@thebotanist.uk.com when you would like to come back

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
  • Janet R. 25 October 2021, 11:26 pm
    Comment
    Fabulous setting.
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:26 pm
      Hey Janet Raynor,

      Thanks for leaving us a lovely review!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • qwerty 24 October 2021, 9:49 pm
    Comment
    Nice beer different kinds, only card pay though, interesting decor and use of space, getting up I hit my head on the heavy glass light shade not good on my head. Have to climb steps to get in. There is a lift.
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:51 pm
      Hey qwerty,

      Thanks for leaving a great review! I'm sorry about you hitting your head ️

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Kate M. 24 October 2021, 12:40 am
    Comment
    Beautiful place with nice live music.
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:25 pm
      Hey Kate Mit,

      Thanks for leaving us a 5 star review! We love the music too!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Helen 23 October 2021, 8:40 pm
    Comment
    Beautiful place to eat. Very good non alcohol and alcohol drinks and excellent food and a wonderful service. When back at home I've recommended The Botanist, Coventry to many people I know.
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:24 pm
      Hey Helen,

      Thanks for leaving us a 5 star review and another thank-you for recommending us!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Frank R. 23 October 2021, 8:31 pm
    Comment
    It was my first visit loved the ambiance of the place the food was very good enjoyed it very much will definitely be back
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:24 pm
      Hey Frank Rogers,

      Thanks for leaving us a 5 star review! We look forward to seeing you again!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • aravindhan p. 23 October 2021, 7:22 pm
    Comment
    Good food, good ambience, good value for money!
    • Company's official reply 7 November 2021, 3:23 pm
      Hey aravindhan poopathy,

      Thanks for leaving us a great review!

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Monica M. 23 October 2021, 11:28 am
    Comment
    Great place, nice big venue, fab decor.
  • Ikram S. 22 October 2021, 10:21 am
    Comment
    Good food, good table service, but let down by poor lacklustre welcome. But would recommended and will return.
  • Nick D. 21 October 2021, 10:39 pm
    Comment
    Massive pub in city centre. Well worth a look.
  • Krunal M. 21 October 2021, 4:14 am
    Comment
    Really enjoyed my first dinner treat with colleagues. Food was delicious and fabulous. Amazing place to enjoy your dinner with your love one ️
  • Saracen R. 20 October 2021, 1:35 am
    Comment
    A nice restaurant. Had a great evening. Its very busy and you may want a different place if you want quiet conversation. Nice food nice cocktails, clean, nice staff and was a but different than the norm. Enjoyable experience overall.
  • Carl S. 17 October 2021, 2:25 pm
    Comment
    Great setting for a bar, bit pricey but worth it
  • Dean P. 17 October 2021, 12:08 am
    Comment
    Great food in an interesting greenhouse. The kebab was succulent and filling and the sweet potato veggie pie a delight
  • Dave K. 16 October 2021, 11:58 pm
    Comment
    Partner had a lovely cocktail (Pink Poppy Punch) and I tried the Botanists version of a an Old Fashioned, which was rushed but OK.
  • Tommy R. 16 October 2021, 1:37 pm
    Comment
    The restaurant is absolutely stunning. Food is excellent and the atmosphere is always brilliant here every time. You cannot go wrong at the Bontanist.
    • Company's official reply 16 October 2021, 4:46 pm
      Hi Tommy, Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are very pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience and we can't wait to welcome you back for more! ️
  • browny 2. 14 October 2021, 10:33 am
    Comment
    Great atmosphere
  • Anna M. 11 October 2021, 9:54 am
    Comment
    Lovely place, great cocktails, fantastic live music. You have to book to get a table.
  • Nav 10 October 2021, 5:46 pm
    Comment
    service was terrible. we got put by the toilets and when asked if we could move they said no other area was available(app all booked) even though the restaurant was quite empty. we left after our meal and if anything the it was emptier than when we had arrived.
    the glass and plates weren't exactly the cleanest.
    Our waitress who said to us she wants to provide exceptional service did anything but that ie not helping us move table and when ordering the hanging kebab not even mentioning that the oi
    – show
    • Company's official reply 15 September 2021, 10:45 pm
      Hi Nav,

      Please accept our sincerest apologies for the experience you had on your recent visit.

      If you could contact us at coventry@thebotanist.uk.com we would love to discuss the issue further with you and find a way to turn this around.

      Have a great day and thank you for your feedback.
  • Alys H. 8 October 2021, 4:39 pm
    Comment
    Amazing food
  • Pawel S. 6 October 2021, 8:43 pm
    Comment
    Amazing atmosphere, incredible food and the best staff. Would highly recommend for a date or family meal.
  • Pradyumna B. 5 October 2021, 3:25 pm
    Comment
    Excellent cocktails and food. Great vibe and polite service.
  • Martin B. 4 October 2021, 11:02 pm
    Comment
    Lovely building and ambience. Staff very pleasant and courteous too.
    On Sunday's its apparently a limited menu that wasn't explained when booked.
    Also a 10% service charge was added to our bill as over four people dinning.Thought places would be glad of the business.
    Food was good, but the limited menu was even more depleted and it was only 6pm.
    A bit disappointing to say the least!!!.
    • Company's official reply 5 October 2021, 5:53 pm
      Hey Martin Bell,

      Thanks you taking the time to leave us a review.

      We agree, the building is lovely! I am pleased you loved the staff also, I'll be sure to pass on your comments.

      We add service charge on to all tables of six, however this is optional and we will happily remove at any of our guests request.

      It is frustrating that we ran out of menu items, was there anything in particular you were excited about eating?

      Do you mind dropping me an email at danielwilson@thebotanist.uk.com to disc
      – show
  • James 3 October 2021, 11:20 pm
    Comment
    We were not informed that there is a restricted menu on Sundays due to the carvery upon booking which was disappointing. Also most of the menu was off. But the food and service was quality.
  • Sawood P. 3 October 2021, 7:50 pm
    Comment
    Extremely unwelcoming to vegetarians. I pre-booked a table for 17.15 (early for Sunday service) and three of the vegetarian mains were already unavailable. This is very poor planning (how can you run out of halloumi?) and meant we couldn’t enjoy what this restaurant is supposedly famous for.

    They also never answer their phone after three different time attempts, and the disabled lift doesn’t work properly (door upstairs doesn’t close so it’s stuck).

    Therefore I wouldn’t recommend.
    • Company's official reply 5 October 2021, 5:48 pm
      Hey Sawood Pearce,

      Firstly, thank you for leaving us a review!

      Secondly, I can only agree that it is frustrating when our menu items are unavailable. However I am confident this was not targeted towards vegetarians.

      I would love to invite you back to try all of our vegetarian dishes, if you could drop me an email at danielwilson@thebotanist.uk.com to arrange.

      Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Drask G. 3 October 2021, 5:14 pm
    Comment
    Went to go in, waited 10 mins at cue to be given a table and then told no table although venue was empty, felt discriminated against because of how I look
    • Company's official reply 5 October 2021, 5:45 pm
      Hey Drask George,

      Thanks for leaving us feedback, we appreciate all of our reviews.

      Do you mind dropping me an email at danielwilson@thebotanist.uk.com to discuss this in further.

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager.
  • Anthony W. 3 October 2021, 1:10 am
    Comment
    Despite booking a table in advance, we we're made to queue up on the stairs for 20 minutes after we were expecting to be seated, we decided to just walk away and go elsewhere, no doubt I'll be charged £10 for the privilege for «not turning up» Such a shame because it looks great, if you could only get inside.
    • Company's official reply 5 October 2021, 5:43 pm
      Hey Anthony Webster,

      Thank you for leaving a review, we love to receive all feedback!

      I have taken your comments on board, and will look to see how we can improve our practices on welcoming all of our guests into the building.

      If you don't mind, can you email me directly at danielwilson@thebotanist.uk.com to discuss a little further.

      Many Thanks,
      Dan Wilson
      General Manager
  • Henry P. 30 September 2021, 12:55 am
    Comment
    Very classy, a little expensive
    • Company's official reply 1 October 2021, 1:27 pm
      Hi Henry! Thank you for the great review. Have a wonderful day!
  • Wayne M. 29 September 2021, 6:42 pm
    Comment
    Rip off!!
    • Company's official reply 30 September 2021, 12:14 am
      Hi Wayne, thank you for your review. We have taken your comments on board. Have a wonderful day.
  • Esther C. 29 September 2021, 2:05 pm
    Comment
    Nice ambience..
  • Passmore C. 28 September 2021, 6:34 pm
    Comment
    Went to NEAC for an expo and went here in the centre of Coventry after excellent from start to finish, highly recommend
    • Company's official reply 29 September 2021, 2:24 pm
      Hi Passmore Cleaning, thank you so much for your great review!
  • Boyd H. 28 September 2021, 5:56 pm
    Comment
    Great food and service
    • Company's official reply 29 September 2021, 2:24 pm
      Hi Boyd! Thank you for your great review, have a wonderful day!
  • Kerry L. 26 September 2021, 8:34 pm
    Comment
    Foods only ok, lots of cocktails off the menu as there is a shortage of dry ice. Server was friendly.
    • Company's official reply 27 September 2021, 12:31 pm
      Hi Kerry,

      Many thanks for your review. Be great to hear about your experience further.

      Please email us at coventry@thebotanist.uk.com should you wish to discuss.

      Thank you again and have a great day!
  • kishajtb 24 September 2021, 2:45 pm
    Comment
    Had an absolutely awful experience here on on Saturday.
    I booked over a month ago, travelled from London to celebrate my 25th birthday with my family here at dinner… Got there they sat us at the pokiest little table in the back corner, which had crumbs all over it and the seats, next to someone working on their laptop. The sun was literally blinding me we asked to move, hit my head on the terribly low light and my brother. We were moved to this lovely grand table under a canopy, which was comp
    – show
    • Company's official reply 25 September 2021, 1:20 am
      Hi kishajtb,

      Thank you for your recent review.

      Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues caused on your recent visit, it did not live up to the standard we expect here at The Botanist.

      We have communicated the issues around the team and will endeavour to improve our offering.

      We hope we can help to welcome you back to the venue again soon and would love to discuss your feedback further.

      Should you wish to do so, please email us at coventry@thebotanist.uk.com

      Thanks again and hav
      – show
  • Tazy A. 23 September 2021, 9:34 am
    Comment
    Decor is stunning! However the service is painfully slow.
    Staff are incredibly friendly though and food itself was delicious
  • Allen M. 22 September 2021, 4:19 pm
    Comment
    The place looks lovely and I do like the stream running through the restaurant. The selection of cocktails and beers are excellent. Little bit pricey but that's a choice. The food menu has a nice selection of various meals.
  • wes K. 21 September 2021, 6:51 pm
    Comment
    Good place to relax and listen to music for a bit but the prices make me quiver a little
  • Lisa R. 18 September 2021, 10:57 pm
    Comment
    Very swish!
  • Lewis R. 18 September 2021, 2:42 pm
    Comment
    Fantastic service from the staff, which were of course all very busy. Special mention to Jordan, who looked after us exceedingly well.

    Food was outstanding also.
    • Company's official reply 21 September 2021, 10:38 pm
      Hi Lewis! Thank you so much for your amazing feedback, great to hear you had a brilliant time with us and Jordan will be extremely pleased to hear your kind words.

      Have a wonderful day!
  • Robin N. 18 September 2021, 12:37 pm
    Comment
    Lovely room, decent food and good service. If you love food then this isn't the place for you, but if you want an attractive place to spend a few hours with friends then it's certainly worth a visit.
    • Company's official reply 21 September 2021, 10:36 pm
      Hi Robin, thank you for your feedback. Would love to hear more regarding your visit and how we could have improved your experience with us. If you would like to get in contact, please email us at coventry@thebotanist.uk.com.

      Thanks again and have a great week!
  • Mobis F. 17 September 2021, 10:31 pm
    Comment
    A nice place for relaxation
    • Company's official reply 18 September 2021, 2:29 am
      Hi Mobis Films,

      Thank you for your great review!

      Have a wonderful weekend.
  • Lalette 17 September 2021, 9:58 pm
    Comment
    Always a great meal out at the Botanist. Lovely food, great cocktails and attentive staff. Friends & family are always impressed with how beautiful it is inside.
    • Company's official reply 18 September 2021, 2:30 am
      Hi Lalette,

      Thank you for your great review!

      Have a wonderful weekend.
  • Jessica S. 15 September 2021, 10:46 am
    Comment
    It's ok. It's a lovely place to go for a nice night out if you want something a little bit special in terms of location and some fancy cocktails. The cocktails were gorgeous and tasted lovely but were mostly filled up with ice and other contraptions in the glass. The food also was lovely but the portion sizes were really small. All in all the value for money here isn't the best and it's more for if you want some nice shots for your social media.
    • Company's official reply 7 October 2019, 10:01 am
      Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Jessica.
  • Philip S. 14 September 2021, 10:19 am
    Comment
    Have visited this particular restaurant several times and always been impressed with the food and drinks served by the friendly staff.
  • Kelvin M. 12 September 2021, 8:39 pm
    Comment
    Fabulous food with great friendlt service.
    • Company's official reply 13 September 2021, 8:25 pm
      Hi Kelvin, thanks for the review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
  • Jean-Louis M. 12 September 2021, 5:27 pm
    Comment
    Good quality/price balance, cool staff. Just one weird thing is having a lot of fake plants for a restaurant call » Botanist »
  • Charalambos K. 11 September 2021, 1:47 pm
    Comment
    Excellent customer service
  • Timothy K. 11 September 2021, 8:36 am
    Comment
    Very pretty building and reasonably nice food. The steak was a little chewy but the calamari was some of the best I've ever tasted. Service was very slow but I think they are understaffed.
  • Aieden S. 11 September 2021, 12:29 am
    Comment
    Drinks were great, had the kebab and camembert for food which was delicious. The waiter serving us was great, super friendly. Visit was a great experience
    • Company's official reply 14 December 2018, 8:12 pm
      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Aieden.
      If you would like to discuss your experience with us further, please contact the General Manager on mattdudgeon@thebotanist.uk.com
  • Stephen H. 10 September 2021, 7:17 pm
    Comment
    Not the best food I've eaten, the service was also poor, each course one meal was delayed upto 10 minutes we had three coures.
    • Company's official reply 11 September 2021, 12:43 pm
      Hi Stephen,

      Thank you for your review,

      Please could you email us directly at coventry@thebotanist.uk.com so that we may discuss this issue with you further.

      Please accept our sincerest apologies and we look forward to speaking with you soon.
  • Felix T. 6 September 2021, 1:43 am
    Comment
    Friendly waitress recommended a drink based on a very vague request from my partner — the result was well-received and credit to the staff who clearly know their stuff!
  • Craig P. 5 September 2021, 12:40 am
    Comment
    Nice atmosphere and surroundings. My starter was a touch over fried,may have been the oil it was cooked in. My hanging kebab could have been cooked a touch more and the skewer looked like it had a piece of meat missing. Service was excellent, speedy and friendly so not all bad,would give it another trying.
  • sue t. 4 September 2021, 2:57 pm
    Comment
    Will definitely recommend
  • Callum B. 2 September 2021, 3:31 pm
    Comment
    Great location, very unique, food was decent.
  • Andy L. 2 September 2021, 8:25 am
    Comment
    Food was awful chicken was burnt and barely edible only one out of four was OK with there meal. Very dissatisfied as had heard good things about this place. Paid a lot of money wouldn't bother again
  • Bev S. 1 September 2021, 11:06 pm
    Comment
    Really good meal, lovely restaurant, friendly staff! Will definitely visit again.
  • Jamie W. 30 August 2021, 9:31 pm
    Comment
    Great atmosphere and even better food
  • Michael L. 30 August 2021, 9:27 pm
    Comment
    A lovely ambiance, staff very friendly and the food was delicious. It was nice just to sit and look around, highly recommended.
  • Elysia G. 30 August 2021, 5:48 pm
    Comment
    Jim is all that I can say! What an amazing waiter and young man! He has made our afternoon so fun, the food was great but Jim made the whole experience, thank you Jim ️
  • Kathryn D. 29 August 2021, 9:50 pm
    Comment
    Wonderful service, food and atmosphere, one of the best restaurants in the area
  • Richard S. 29 August 2021, 6:02 pm
    Comment
    Excellent food and choice of beers
  • Yvonne O. 29 August 2021, 1:04 pm
    Comment
    Great service..Great food..Great atmosphere! Thanks to Jordan who looked after us! Will definitely be returning!!
  • lorraine d. 29 August 2021, 5:38 am
    Comment
    Oh wow! Everything about this place I love. The decor the atmosphere the food, first time here will definitely be added to my favourites list. Had to leave in a hurry after a urgent phone call so didn’t leave a tip felt really bad after such amazing service, next time guys!
  • Suren 26 August 2021, 3:11 am
    Comment
    Beautiful ambiance, but food was average
    • Company's official reply 26 August 2021, 5:27 pm
      Thank you for the review Suren. We have also passed on the feedback to our Kitchen Team. Have a great day.
  • Carol R. 24 August 2021, 3:04 pm
    Comment
    meal was perfect, staff very attentive overall lovely night out
  • Georgie B. 23 August 2021, 9:53 pm
    Comment
    Really lovely staff who were friendly and chatty. Gorgeous surroundings both inside and out. Really quirky place ideal for a meal or drinks (or both!). Highly recommend.
  • Julie G. 21 August 2021, 10:04 pm
    Comment
    Great food drinks and atmosphere
  • Martin L. 17 August 2021, 1:17 pm
    Comment
    My first time in any of The Botanist franchises venues. We went in early Sunday evening for an aperitif prior to a meal elsewhere to celebrate our son’s 21st birthday.
    Decor and atmosphere was nice,, service was prompt and friendly.
    I ordered a Negroni which was ok but I’ve never seen one mixed in the glass it was served in with all the ice left in! The ingredients should be poured over ice and stirred before being strained into a glass with one large ice cube.
    • Company's official reply 19 August 2021, 5:16 pm
      Hi Martin, many thanks for your review! Glad to hear you had a good visit with us, we have also passed on the feedback to the Bartenders regarding the Negroni. Have a wonderful day!
  • Richard W. 16 August 2021, 12:36 pm
    Comment
    We visited during a thunder and lightning cloudburst, the roof leaked like a sieve, the areas surrounding the bar and inside the toilets were completely flooded. The food and drinks were good, but too pricey for the venue.
    Maybe they should spend less on iPads/tablets for customers to give feedback and then they could reduce their prices?
    • Company's official reply 16 August 2021, 8:16 pm
      Thanks for the review Richard! Unfortunately, the roof on the day had technical issues but has since been sorted. We have also passed on your feedback regarding the pricing.

      Have a great day!
  • Denise B. 15 August 2021, 12:01 pm
    Comment
    Nice place
  • Bukola R. 14 August 2021, 7:33 pm
    Comment
    Lovely ambience and great meals
    • Company's official reply 20 August 2021, 7:42 pm
      Good Afternoon Bukola,

      Thank you for your 5 star review — stop by again soon!

      Kind Regards,
      Sophie
      Regional Sales Executive
  • Michel 14 August 2021, 7:18 pm
    Comment
    The service is excellent. The place is very pretty and stylish like if you are not in Coventry. Nice and delicious menu and cocktails. Highly recommended. Would visit again and again!!
    • Company's official reply 20 August 2021, 7:42 pm
      Good Afternoon Michel,

      Thank you for your 5 star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Botanist.

      Kind Regards,
      Sophie
      Regional Sales Executive
  • Sadie F. 12 August 2021, 9:34 pm
    Comment
    Great place
    • Company's official reply 12 August 2021, 9:20 pm
      Good Evening Sadie,

      Thank you for your rating. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to The Botanist.

      Kind Regards,
      Sophie
      Regional Sales Executive
  • Wayne S. 9 August 2021, 7:13 pm
    Comment
    Great place for cocktails. Watching the guys make them. Very good. Reasonably priced too
  • Graeme M. 9 August 2021, 10:15 am
    Comment
    Amazing space, excellent service from the friendly staff. We'll worth a visit.
    • Company's official reply 10 August 2021, 3:02 pm
      Thank you Graeme for the amazing feedback. Look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
  • Ben S. 8 August 2021, 12:42 am
    Comment
    Was big and spacious until you want a drink and my partner was served and 20mins later we still didn't have our drinks
    • Company's official reply 8 August 2021, 5:19 pm
      Thanks for the review! We are sorry that we didn't quite meet your expectations on this occasion.
  • Joanne W. 7 August 2021, 9:09 pm
    Comment
    Beautiful decor fab cocktails
  • Haleemah P. 7 August 2021, 6:40 pm
    Comment
    Beautiful setting, great for a special occasion. The food and drinks were good.
  • Sandra C. 6 August 2021, 11:42 pm
    Comment
    Quite expensive and very loud and busy. However it had a good atmosphere and live music
  • tessa k. 6 August 2021, 11:31 am
    Comment
    Had a lovely evening here with old friends the food was great and plentiful and Jim looked after us really well. Mystery cocktails at his suggestion very successful! Enjoyed the setting and decor too, not overly noisy.
    • Company's official reply 12 August 2021, 9:21 pm
      Good Evening Tessa,

      Thank you for your 5 star review! We are delighted that you had a great time with your friends. I will ensure that your kind words are shared with Jim and the team.

      Kind Regards,
      Sophie
      Regional Sales Executive
  • Damian 6 August 2021, 9:49 am
    Comment
    Fantastic place for a pint with friends. Unfortunatelly no choice of ales, but you can have a beer there. Beautiful interior. I recoment to sit upstairs to enjoy the view onto entire place. Fantastic glass roof giving lots of light.
    • Company's official reply 12 August 2021, 9:21 pm
      Good Evening Damian,

      Thank you for your 5 star review! We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.

      Kind Regards,
      Sophie
      Regional Sales Executive
  • MICK W. 4 August 2021, 9:31 pm
    Comment
    Great food and staff
    • Company's official reply 12 August 2021, 9:22 pm
      Good Evening Mick,

      Thank you for your 5 star feedback! We hope to see you again soon.

      Kind Regards,
      Sophie
      Regional Sales Executive
  • Kyle K. 4 August 2021, 1:08 am
    Comment
    Lovely atmosphere and tasty lunch time menu.
  • sharisse88 3 August 2021, 1:57 pm
    Comment
    I visited on a Saturday lunchtime and was pleased that the venue wasn't overly full- there is a booking system which is clearly helping keep numbers to a sensible level. Was pleased to find some nice non alcoholic cocktails. Gorge venue and decor, very spacious and airy. Delicious drinks. I would definitely come back
    • Company's official reply 4 August 2021, 6:37 pm
      Thanks for the review! we look forward to seeing you again!
  • sally 3 August 2021, 12:46 am
    Comment
    Lovely cocktails. Not much choice of starters as majority not available and I always have a starter and could not so was disappointed, my friend had the pea humous which she liked. Chunky chips were awesome so was the flatbread. I had hanging chicken kebab and my friend had the lamb one which was too spicy for her she said her mouth and lips were on fire and unfortunately we didn't realise the garlic oil was on top of the hanger until it was too late, would of made a huge difference to the meal. – show
    • Company's official reply 3 August 2021, 9:52 am
      Hi Sally,

      Thank you for the review! Our apologies on the out of stock items on the visit, we are working hard to avoid these issues in the future.

      Really hope you visit us again in the future.

      Have a great day!
  • Joe A. 1 August 2021, 10:09 pm
    Comment
    The Sunday roast was ok, but not the best. Service was very good indeed and the food/drink was quick. The cauliflower cheese and Yorkshire pudding were probably the best things about the meal. The roast potatoes (which were actually baby/new potatos) were the most dissapointing and weren’t crispy at all. Food 3/5, drink 4/5 and service 5/5.
    • Company's official reply 3 August 2021, 9:57 am
      Hi Joe,

      Many thanks for the review, we have passed on your feedback to the Kitchen Team regarding the food.

      Hopefully get to welcome you back soon.

      Have a great day!
  • Dan B. 1 August 2021, 12:53 pm
    Comment
    Good range of drinks and cocktails in a nice atmosphere. There was some good live music on which unfortunately ended quite early. We had come just for drinks after being out for dinner and found a table on the upper level (no direction from staff) but were disappointed to be told to move. Apparently this was for the restaurant only despite the kitchen being closed at that time and therefore the tables were not being used. We luckily found another table downstairs which was ok except for the cons – show
    • Company's official reply 1 August 2021, 3:03 pm
      Thanks for your feedback, I'll look into these to provide a better experience in the future.

      The Botanist Coventry
  • Elaine P. 30 July 2021, 1:55 pm
    Comment
    Loverly place and food
    • Company's official reply 30 July 2021, 6:02 pm
      Hey Elaine!

      Thank you so much for your recent review, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

      Have a wonderful weekend.
  • Steve C. 30 July 2021, 12:58 am
    Comment
    The best Botanist I've been too better nan Birmingham coventry one is more stylish
    • Company's official reply 30 July 2021, 6:05 pm
      Hey Steve,

      Thank you for your kind words and great review, hopefully we get you back in the near future for another visit!

      Have a great weekend.
  • Simon M. 29 July 2021, 8:50 pm
    Comment
    Excellent

    Popped in for drinks only and had drinks made that were not on the menu

    Great bar staff

    Highly recommended
    • Company's official reply 30 July 2021, 6:07 pm
      Hi Simon,

      Thank you for the excellent review and we are really happy to see the team made your experience great!

      Have a wonderful weekend.
  • Valentina R. 28 July 2021, 1:54 pm
    Comment
    I enjoy coming here. Been lucky to have had good service and delicious food each visit. Would happily recommend
    • Company's official reply 30 July 2021, 7:01 pm
      Hi Valentina,

      Thank you so much for your great review and it's great to hear that you have a great time every time you visit us.

      Have a wonderful weekend and hopefully get to welcome you back again very soon
  • Petr K. 27 July 2021, 8:09 pm
    Comment
    Top 1
    • Company's official reply 1 August 2021, 3:05 pm
      Thanks for your wonderful comments! See you again soon!

      The Botanist Coventry
  • Babek R. 26 July 2021, 9:42 pm
    Comment
    expensive but nice and cosy
    • Company's official reply 1 August 2021, 3:05 pm
      Thanks for your wonderful comments! See you again soon!

      The Botanist Coventry
  • Deus A. 26 July 2021, 6:50 pm
    Comment
    Way to expensive for what they serve there.. About food : nothing special, meat was very dry («special kebab») and the cocktail was 90% ice and again very expensive. Place is nice, once in a life time to have this experience but never, ever again.
    • Company's official reply 30 July 2021, 7:20 pm
      Hi Deus,

      Thank you for your review, we are sorry to see your experience did not go well and we would love the opportunity to rectify this.

      Please contact us at coventry@thebotanist.uk.com should you wish to discuss further and we will arrange the necessary details.

      Have a great weekend.
  • Suteesh C. 26 July 2021, 1:46 pm
    Comment
    Disappointing and would not use again! Here are the facts, not opinions:

    Booking: Table booked for 18.00 — was not ready despite the place being nearly empty.

    Cleanliness: Breadcrumbs over table despite just being cleaned. No prosecco at table despite being promised it when booked and paid for. Had to remind waiter of pre-ordered prosecco.

    Table: Round table and pretty much had to self service from the middle of an extremely large table — each time having to get out of the chair to reach item
    – show
    • Company's official reply 30 July 2021, 7:18 pm
      Hi Suteesh,

      Thank you so much for taking your time to leave a review of your recent experience. Please accept our apologies for the recent experience you had with us.

      We would love to turn this visit around and invite you back, should you wish to do so then please contact us at coventry@thebotanist.uk.com and we will endeavour to get you rebooked and work towards rectify the previous visit.

      Have a wonderful weekend and we look forward to speaking to you soon.
  • stuart l. 24 July 2021, 6:05 pm
    Comment
    Fabulous building with great views of the Cathedral through the glass ceiling, very talented duo singing and playing the piano. Very slow service through the app but tasted great when we got them after 25 minutes.
    • Company's official reply 1 August 2021, 3:07 pm
      Thanks for your wonderful comments! See you again soon!

      The Botanist Coventry
  • Sharon O. 21 July 2021, 11:09 pm
    Comment
    Okay for drink not food
  • Sam R. 21 July 2021, 1:22 am
    Comment
    Excellent presentation of the restaurant and the food was delicious.
    • Company's official reply 22 July 2021, 1:22 am
      Thanks for your feedback! We love it when people enjoy thier time here

      The Botanist Coventry
  • Lisa T. 20 July 2021, 2:59 pm
    Comment
    Lovely atmosphere and staff. Very tasty meal and drinks were refreshing.
    • Company's official reply 22 July 2021, 1:25 am
      Thanks for your feedback! We love to hear it!

      The Botanist Coventry
  • Rebecca O. 20 July 2021, 9:26 am
    Comment
    Nice atmosphere, expensive cocktails and limited food menu.
    • Company's official reply 20 July 2021, 10:48 am
      Good Morning Rebecca,

      Thank you for your review. We hope that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Botanist, Coventry.

      Kind Regards,
      Sophie
      Regional Sales Executive
  • Emily B. 18 July 2021, 9:09 pm
    Comment
    Beautiful place with lovely food. Staff were lovely. Highly recommend.
    • Company's official reply 22 July 2021, 1:24 am
      Thanks for your feedback! we love to hear it!

      The Botanist Coventry
  • Nicky H. 18 July 2021, 6:47 pm
    Comment
    Had to remind them of our order, staff were really friendly, however service was a bit slow.
    And the roof needs to open!!!!
    • Company's official reply 22 July 2021, 1:25 am
      Thanks for your feedback! We are sorry it wasn't our best. Hope to see you again soon!

      The Botanist Coventry
  • Katie L. 18 July 2021, 3:50 pm
    Comment
    Fab service, warm and welcoming atmosphere.
    • Company's official reply 19 July 2021, 6:46 pm
      Thank you, Katie, for your kind words and lovely 5 star review
  • Lorraine D. 16 July 2021, 1:57 pm
    Comment
    Good service, well presented tasty food, good menu, great ambiance and good cocktails! Highly recommend.
  • Scott L. 14 July 2021, 6:51 pm
    Comment
    Great food, lots a variety for meat eaters and veggies/vegans, fair pricing and nice staff. They made accomodations for an unavoidable late arrival and our pushchair/little one. Will definitely go again!
    • Company's official reply 14 July 2021, 11:38 pm
      Scott, thank you so much for your amazing 5 star review. Your kind words mean a lot to us!
      See you soon again
  • Chris H. 13 July 2021, 5:49 pm
    Comment
    Fantastic place in the centre with good outlook outside and great interior design. Service was great all evening.
    • Company's official reply 14 July 2021, 11:37 pm
      Chirs, thank you so much for you 5 star review! We look forward seeing you soon
  • Elsie N. 13 July 2021, 3:56 pm
    Comment
    The food was excellent and the service was fantastic
  • Anand M. 11 July 2021, 7:51 pm
    Comment
    It's okish
    • Company's official reply 14 July 2021, 11:42 pm
      Hi Anand,

      Thank you for your 3 star review and it is sad to hear that you've left feeling you recent visit was average.

      We do pride ourselves in excellent customer service as well as our interior being a wow factor.

      In order to get to the route of the fact that you haven't fully enjoyed your visit, could I kindly ask you to email coventryagma@thebotanist.uk.com with date and time of your visit as well as brief description of things that weren't up to your liking.

      Many Thanks
  • Owen T. 13 October 2019, 1:38 am
    Comment
    Great atmosphere with delicious food and drinks, very well priced for what you get and couldn’t recommend it more. Although do make sure you book in advance as it can get very busy.

Rejected reviews

The Nicelocal admins regard these reviews as dubious
4.3
  /  404 ratings
All reviews 4
Sort:
  • Tom F. 27 June 2019, 12:15 am
    Comment
    Excellent range of drinks
  • James 20 February 2019, 3:09 pm
    Comment
    Great drink selection and a lovely environment to socialise with friends
  • James 20 February 2019, 2:58 pm
    Comment
    Great food
  • Manos K. 10 February 2019, 7:12 pm
    Comment
    Best place in Coventry.

Other restaurants that we recommend

19 photos visitors from Foursquare

Average rating - 4.3 based on 133 reviews and 404 ratings